Cambashi Methodology Overview

Our multi-dimensional approach enables consistent, reliable datasets

We rigorously apply a series of constrain, refine and converge processes to ensure that datasets are consistent with Provider data, Country data, Industry data and Employment data.

Data sources used for the generation of Cambashi market data include but are not limited to international statistical sources, econometrics data, national statistics, 3rd party research, public financial sources, analysts, Cambashi research, and company reports.

Our multi-dimensional approach

Cambashi researches and models over 100 technical software providers by:

  • Products
  • Countries
  • Industries
  • Years
  • Currencies
Cambashi Methodology

1. We research economic size and employment data

  • for 112 industries
  • in each of 56 countries

2. We combine software spend intensity with industry size data to give a ‘demand-side’ view of the market for each software type

  • PLM
  • CAx
  • BIM
  • IoT
  • MOM, etc.

3. We research each Provider-Product to give a ‘supply-side’ view of the market:

  • At the global level (E.g. Annual Reports, vendor contact)
  • By industry where published (E.g. Ansys, Dassault, PTC)
  • Research in-country provider revenue (E.g. Company accounts)
  • Research in-country office and reseller presence
Multiple inputs and multiple approaches ensure that our market datasets are consistent with vendor revenues, number of potential users, and user companies’ budgets

Market forecast

Econometric inputs

  • Applied to each industry, in each country, for each provider*
  • The economic performance of all 112 industries in each country drives the underlying forecasts of each product individually and uniquely, based on its industry structure*

*Cambashi utilises economic forecast data from Oxford Economics


  • Technical applications typically outperform the underlying economy of the industries they serve
  • For each product (by industry, by country) the model incorporates a ‘propensity’ factor – the capacity for each product to turn economic growth into software growth.


  • Investor revenue guidance
  • Third-party investor forecasts
  • VC funding information
  • Revenue type (i.e. perpetual vs recurring revenue)
  • Piracy
  • New software features and capabilities
  • Mergers & Acquisitions

Units and Data Metrics

  • Data is provided in three currencies USD, EUR and Constant USD (“Const”). For Observatories with a country dimension, data is also available in local currency.
  • Exchange rates are provided by Oxford Economics and include forecasted exchange rates for future years.
  • Data is provided in Software Provider Revenue (SPR) terms. It includes software licences, maintenance, and subscription revenues. It excludes provider services, reseller margin and sales tax.

Employment method

The Cambashi Employment Observatory is underpinned by extensive research and data collection.

For each country, research is collected for:

  • Employment by industry
  • Employment by occupation
  • Employment by the intersection of industry and occupation

Data is collected and aggregated from a variety of sources including (but not limited to) national statistics agencies (e.g. ‘Statistics Korea’, BLS), Eurostat, ILO, and many others.

Research is standardized to a common definition of employment and mapped to Cambashi’s standard set of industries and occupations, which are based on:

  • International Standard of Industry Classifications (ISIC Rev.4)
  • International Standard Classification of Occupations (ISCO 08)

For countries with incomplete data, Cambashi uses various techniques to extrapolate and interpolate data to produce a complete and consistent output.

Typical questions

How experienced is Cambashi`s analyst team?
Our consultants and analysts have held senior roles involving buying, selling, and implementing IT solutions in the industries that we serve, so we understand the mix of industry, business, marketing, sales, and IT.

Are Cambashi’s research and market forecast dependable and credible?
Cambashi provides the most dependable market data in the engineering software space. Our combination of industry analysis and consulting allows us not only to analyze but also interpret data and deliver insights and concrete recommendations in the specific context of the client’s business.

Do you have insight into every segment of the engineering software space?
Our research scope covers 112 industries in each of 56 countries; and combines software spend intensity with industry size data to give a ‘demand-side’ view of the market for each software type (CAD, CAM, CAE, PLM, etc.).

Are Cambashi`s analysts directly accessible to clients?
Unlike its competitors, Cambashi encourages clients to directly contact analyst experts to get an insight behind the numbers.

Can you provide granular market data across all regions and countries? 
Although Cambashi provides a truly global market view, clients can also focus their view of the data on the most important details by selecting the scope – either geographically (i.e. only including countries of interest), by industry sector, or even by product/provider.

Does Cambashi provide tools for assessing longer-term demand for software products and services?
Our unique employment database is a comprehensive, consistent, and multi-perspective dataset containing detailed information on the size of potential user communities for engineering software.

Geographic coverage

AMER – Americas region – The Americas comprises all the countries of North America and South American geographic continent, including islands of the Caribbean and the Pacific, and Atlantic and Pacific island dependencies of those countries. It excludes remaining dependent territories of other countries, e.g. French Guiana.

APAC – Asia, Pacific region – Asia comprises all the countries of the Asian geographic continent, except Russia, Turkey and the Middle East as defined below in EMEA; plus all the Indian Ocean islands, except those included below in our definition of Africa. Note that South Asia, including India, and Central and South West Asian countries, such as Afghanistan and Kazakhstan, are included in our definition of Asia. The Pacific region comprises all the countries of Australasia (Australia, New Zealand and neighboring islands in the Pacific Ocean); Island nations of the Pacific such as Chinese Taipei, Japan and the Philippines; and Oceania (island groupings of Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia), except for the remaining dependent territories of countries e.g. Guam for the USA; New Caledonia for France etc.

EMEA – Europe, Middle East and Africa region – Europe comprises all the countries of the European geographical continent, plus their dependent territories such as Greenland, Reunion, Tahiti, French Guiana; plus Russia; plus Turkey. Africa comprises all the countries of the African geographical continent, including Egypt, plus offshore Indian Ocean States such as the Comoros, Seychelles, Malagasy and Mauritius. The Middle East comprises all the states on the Arabian geographic peninsula; plus Israel, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine and Syria; plus the former Soviet Union trans-Caucasus republics of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia.

Shopping Cart